The Real Verdict on Cauliflower Rice

2015-04-27 19.45.07

I’ve been seeing recipes for cauliflower rice, but never tried them because I never thought cauliflower could replace regular rice. My family are big rice eaters and I assumed they wouldn’t be excited about making a switch, but one night I thought it wouldn’t hurt to try it as a low-carb, alkaline alternative to rice.

How to Make Cauliflower Rice

This dish is super easy.

INGREDIENTS

1/2 head cauliflower

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1 tablespoon olive oil

1. Select a fresh, white head of cauliflower. Wash it thoroughly (preferably in alkaline water to remove and residue), and cut it into chunks that are small enough for you food processor.

2015-04-27 19.45.18

My food processor is very small, so I had to cut the cauliflower into very small chunks. I also had to do a few batches to grind the whole cauliflower. Still, this only took minutes.

2015-04-27 19.47.28

When you finish you will get small grains of cauliflower that look surprisingly like real rice!

2015-04-27 19.53.18

2. Next, heat a skillet to medium and add a tablespoon of olive oil. I added salt and tossed the cauliflower rice every few minutes.

I considered adding fresh minced garlic and other seasonings, but I decided to keep it plain so I could get the basic flavor and figure out what additional ingredients would work.

I like my rice (and cauliflower) somewhat firm. You can adjust cooking time according to your preferences. The total cooking time was 5-10 minutes, long enough to become tender, but not translucent. I turned off the stove and covered the cauliflower rice until the rest of my dinner was ready.

I was skeptical about the flavour. The dish had such simple ingredients and I didn’t think cauliflower could possibly be like real rice just because it was processed into tiny bits.

I was surprised to find the cauliflower rice had delightfully fluffy texture. The taste was naturally buttery and the rice-sized bits did make it an excellent substitute for regular rice. It went perfectly with steamed vegetables and seared tuna loin. My family of hardcore rice fans devoured it.

The only thing I noticed was that it didn’t fill me up as much as real rice does. I suppose that next time I should just make a lot more of this cauliflower rice.

THE VERDICT

Yum!

Cauliflower can make an delicious low calorie, low-carb, alkalising alternative to rice.

Quick, simple, and delicious!!!


Have you tried making cauliflower rice?

Do you have any tips for making an alkaline or low carb substitute for starchy side-dishes?

Leave you comments below!

Leave a Reply

